head3.jpg (26516 bytes)

Tribal Colleges

There are thirty tribal colleges in the United States.  They serve to provide education with emphasis on Native language,  cultural traditions, and tribally specific Native studies.  In addition,   they seek to preserve tribal culture through research and the collection of historical records.

Bay Mills Community College
12214 West Lakeshore Dr.
Brimley,  MI   49715
Fax:  906-248-3351
President:  Martha McLeod
Web Site:  http://www.bmcc.org/

Blackfeet Community College: 
P.O. Box 819
Browning, MT  59417
Fax:  406-338-3272
President:  Carol Murray
Web site:  http://www.montana.edu/wwwbcc/

Candeska Cikana Community College: 
P.O. Box 269
Fort Totten, ND  58335
Fax:  701-766-4077
President: Erich Longie 

Cheyenne River Community College: 
P.O. Box 220
Eagle Butte, SD  57625
Fax:  605-964-1144
President:  Tanya Ward

College of the Menominee Nation
P.O. Box 1179
Keshena,  WI   54135
Fax:  715-799-1336
President:  Dr. Verna Fowler
Web site:  http//www.menominee.com/
E-mail:  vfowler@menominee.com

Crownpoint Institute of Technology
P.O. Box 849
Crownpoint,  NM 87313
Fax:  505-786-5644. 
President:  James M. Tutt
Web Site:  http://www.cit.cc.nm.us/

Dine’ College
P.O. Box 126
Tsaile,  AZ 86556
President:  Tommy H. Lewis
E-mail:  tlewis@crystal.ncc.cc.nm.us
Web Site:  http://crystal.ncc.cc.nm.us/

D-Q University 
P.O. Box 409
Davis, CA 95617
Fax:  530-758-4891
President:  Dr. Morgan Otis
Web site:  http://www.dqu.cc.ca.us/

Dull Knife Memorial College: 
P.O. Box 98
Lame Deer,  MT   59043
Fax:  406-477-6219
President:  Dr. Alonzo Spang
Web site:  http://www.montana.edu/~wwwai/dkmwelc.html
E-mail:  uanet142@quest.osco.montana.edu  

Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College
2101 14th
St. Cloquet,  MN  55720
Fax:  218-879-0814
President:  Lester Jack Briggs
Web site:  http://www.fdl.cc.mn.us
E-mail:  ljbriggs@asab.fdl.cc.mn.us  

Fort Belknap College
P.O. Box 159
Harlem,  MT 59526
Fax:  406-353-2898
President:  Philip Shortman
Web site:  http://www.fortbelknap.cc.mt.us/  

Fort Berthold Community College 
P.O. Box 490
New Town,  ND 
58763 701-627-3665
Fax:  701-627-3609
President:  Elizabeth Yellowbird Demaray
Web site:  http://www.fbcc.bia.edu/  

Fort Peck Community College 
P.O. Box 398
Poplar,  MT 59225
Fax:  406-768-5552
President:  Dr. James E. Shanley
Web Site:  http://www.montana.edu/wwwfpcc/  

Haskell Indian Nations University 
155 Indian Ave. Lawrence,  KS  66046
Fax:  785-749-8411
President:  Dr. Karen Gayton Swisher
Web Site:  http://www.haskell.edu/  

Institute of American Indian Arts
108 Cathedral Place
Santa Fe,  NM  87501
Fax:  505-988-6273
Interim President:  Della Warrior
Web site:  http://www.iaiancad.org/  

Lac Courte Orielles Ojibwa Community College 
13466 West Trepania Rd.
Hayward,  WI  54843-2181
Fax:  715-634-5049
President:  Jasjit Minhas
Web Site:  http://www.lco-college.edu/  

Leech Lake Tribal College
Route 3, Box 100
Cass Lake,  MN 5663
Fax:  218-335-7845
President:  Larry Aitken
Web Site:  http://www.lltc.org/  

Little Big Horn College
P.O. Box 370
Crow Agency,  MT  59022
Fax:  406-638-2229
President:  Janine Pease-Pretty On Top
Web site:  http://main.lbhc.cc.mt.us/  

Little Priest Tribal College
P.O. Box 270
Winnebago,  NE  68701
Fax:  402-878-2355
Acting President:  Louis LaRose
Web Site:  http://www.lptc.cc.ne.us/  

Nebraska Indian Community College 
P.O. Box 428
Macy, NE 68039
Fax:  402-837-4183
President:  Schulyer Houser
Web Site:  http://www.unl.edu/nuhusker/applying/tequiv-neindian.html  

Oglala Lakota College 
P.O. Box 490
Kyle, SD 57752
Fax:  605-455-2787
President:  Thomas Shortbull
Web site:  http://www.olc.edu  

Salish Kootenai College
P.O. Box 117
Pablo,  MT  59855
Fax:  406-675-4801
President:  Joseph McDonald
Web site:  http://www.skc.edu
E-mail:  j-mcdonald@skc.edu  

Sinte Gleska University 
P.O. Box 490
Rosebud,  SD  57570
Fax:  605-747-2098
President:  Lionel Bordeaux
Web site:  http://sinte.indian.com/  

Sisseton Wahpeton Community College
P.O. Box 689
Agency Village Sisseton, SD  57262-0689
Fax:  605-698-3132
Interim President:  Elden Lawrence
Web site:  http://www.united-tribes.tec.nd.us/siseton.htm  

Sitting Bull College
HCI Box 4
Fort Yates,  ND  58538
Fax:  701-854-3403
President:  Ron McNeil
Web site:  http://www.nativeworks.org/sitting_bull_college.htm  

Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute 
P.O. Box 10146-9169
NW Albuquerque,  NM  87184
Fax:  505-897-5343
President: Dr. Carolyn Elgin
Web site:  http://www.sipi.bia.edu/  

Stone Child Community College
RR1 Box 1082
Box Elder, MT  59521
Fax:  406-395-4836
President:  Steve Galbavy
Web site:  http://www.montana.edu/~wwwai/scc.html  

Turtle Mountain Community College
P.O. Box 340
Belcourt,  ND  58316
Fax:  701-477-5028
President:  Dr. Gerald Monette
Web site:  http://www.turtle-mountain.cc.nd.us  

United Tribes Technical College
3315 University Dr.
Bismarck,  ND 58504
Fax:  701-255-1844
President:   David Gipp
Web Site:  http://www.united-tribes.tec.nd.us/

NACO Map About us Giving Home News Opportunities Resources Subscribe


Contact us ...  Privacy statement ... Terms of use
For questions or concerns regarding this site, please email naco@umcom.org